2022 Song and Tune Writing Award Winners

We wish to thank all who submitted entries to the competition and to those who performed at the concert. The variety and breadth of composition and talent is what the Awards are really about and we acknowledge the efforts made on all the entries received. Congratulations to all the category winners (listed below). Thank you to the Kunanyi Folk Club team for helping present the concert and to the judges Roger Joseph and Dom McAlinden. Our appreciation goes to our Vice-President Peter Hicks who by running this competition continues to foster song and tune composers in the folk tradition and provides an introduction to new and inexperienced performers.

Winners are as follows:

Mike Silverwood Award (Song):  Greg Wells – “The Lake”

Tune:  Michael Horton – “Sand Hopper”   

U19: Marguerite McClintock – “The Hunt for the Bandicoot”

U19: Samantha McMeekin – “When the World Stops”

People’s Choice: Mia Aplin “Endings and Beginnings”